National Merit Semifinalist

National Merit Semifinalist Announcement
On September 13th, officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  This pool represents less than one percent of U.S. High School Seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.  These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring.  Madison High School is proud to announce that senior Tom Yao was named one of the semifinalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Competition!

National Merit Commended Students
In addition to our one Semifinalist, we were notified of 10 additional commended students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.  About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  They placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2024 competition by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  Congratulations to the following seniors: Charlotte Burrow, Samuel Cohen, Hendrix Farrell, Kelsey Greer, Jonathan Lu, William Marinovic, Daphne Rodas, Arman Tektas, Deniz Tektas, and Faiz Yasin.

College Board’s National Recognition Program 
On August 17th, approximately 72,000 students from across the country earned academic honors from the College Board's National Recognition Programs.  These programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country.  These students have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams.  Congratulations to seniors Nicole Amaral, Mariano Lopez, Camryn Morales, Andreas Panagos, Brandon Quintero, and Gabriel Robinson who were awarded the College Board National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA).