Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Dodger Update, 9/20 - BTSN Events and COVID Update
Mark Schwarz
Monday, September 20, 2021

Dodger families,

Thank you for your help in making our opening of the 2021-22 school year a success! I would like to commend our students, families, faculty, staff and administrators for their flexibility and resilience as we have navigated tropical storms, bus driver shortages, and ongoing COVID-related operational challenges. For those that are impacted by any of these adverse circumstances, please remain patient and communicative as we work to support you. We will remain vigilant in addressing these and any other emerging concerns so that our students and faculty are not distracted from their important work. 

As we head into our 2021 Back to School Nights, please consider the following important updates: 

Regional COVID rates remain at “Moderate”; MPS rates have increased and now include “breakthrough” cases.

While MPS has not yet seen evidence of in-school transmission, recent cases within our community have impacted many students this week. Parents and students should be aware that many of the individuals that tested positive were fully vaccinated. Accordingly, all parents and students should be mindful to ensure that all indoor gatherings include some combination of mitigation strategies, including fresh air ventilation, filtration, distancing, and/or mask wearing.  

Back to School Nights begin this week and will be held virtually.

Our principals, faculty members, and staff members are excited to introduce themselves and share important information about school this year. As we anticipate high parent participation rates at our Back to School Night events, the district will hold BTSN remotely. In doing so, we can ensure that all parents and guardians may attend without concerns of overcrowding in small spaces.  For your convenience, the BTSN dates are listed here:

  • King’s Road School - Tues, Sept 21

  • Madison High School - Wed, Sept 22

  • Madison Junior School - Thurs, Sept 23

  • Torey J. Sabatini School - Wed, Sept 29

  • Central Avenue School - Thurs, Sept 30

The first Education Update of 2021-22 is now available. 

Our monthly updates are also available on our website and in the Board’s Take-Five briefing. These reports are full of detailed recognitions of our students for their many accomplishments. Also included are important program updates, acknowledgement of faculty successes, and opportunities for students and families to be involved in upcoming events. Be sure to review the Update each month for the names of people you know and for exciting news from your school. 

Thank you for taking the time to read all of this important information. I look forward to seeing you soon. In the meantime, be well and stay Madison Strong. 

Upcoming Events:

  • Mon, Oct 11 - Superintendent Coffee, 7pm

  • Tues, Oct 12 - Board of Education Meeting, 7pm

  • Thurs, Nov 5 - Schools Closed for NJEA Convention

  • Fri, Nov 6 - Schools Closed for NJEA Convention

  • Mon, Nov 15 - State of the Schools Address, 7pm 

  • Tues, Nov 16 - Board of Education Meeting, 7pm

  • Mon, Nov 22 - Single Session for Parent Teacher Conferences (K-8)

  • Tues, Nov 23 - Single Session for Parent Teacher Conferences (K-8)

  • Wed, Nov 24 - Single Session prior to Thanksgiving

  • Thurs, Nov 25 - Thanksgiving Break

  • Fri, Nov 26 - Thanksgiving Break

  • Mon, Dec 13 - Superintendent Coffee, 7pm

  • Tues, Dec 14 - Board of Education Meeting, 7pm